Pittsburgh New Music Net

cutting-edge music in the ’burgh and beyond

PSO Performs Galbraith’s Euphonic Blues

March 21, 2014
8:00 pm
March 23, 2014
2:30 pm

Heinz Hall

The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra continues its Year of the Pittsburgh Composer with a performance of Nancy Galbraith’s Euphonic Blues. Euphonic Blues was premiered in 2012 by the Carnegie Mellon Philharmonic Orchestra for the 100th anniversary celebration of the Carnegie Mellon School of Music. Donald Runnicles will also lead the orchestra in Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 1 and highlights from Wagner’s Ring.

Nancy Galbraith resides in Pittsburgh, where she is Professor of Composition at Carnegie Mellon University. In a career that spans three decades, her music has earned praise for its rich harmonic texture, rhythmic vitality, emotional and spiritual depth, and wide range of expression.

Galbraith has had six works performed by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, beginning with the 1988 premiere of Morning Litany, directed by the eminent Russian conductor Gennady Rozhdetsvensky. The orchestra followed with performances of Danza de los Duendes in 1992, Piano Concerto No. 1 in 1995, and Tormenta del Sur in 2001. In 1998 the PSO commissioned and premiered A Festive Violet Pulse for a celebration welcoming its new music director Mariss Jansons. De profundis ad lucem was commissioned by California University of Pennsylvania to celebrate its 150th anniversary and was premiered there by the PSO in 2002. The work received its European premiere with the Limburgs Symfonie Orkest in the Netherlands in 2011.

March 19, 2014 at 8:51 am Comments (0)

Please Turn Your Cell Phones On!

March 16, 2014
7:00 pm

Bellefield Hall Auditorium
Tickets: general admission $15; students and seniors $10.
Advance tickets are $12 and $8. Call 412-422-8042.
Children under 12 free.


IonSound Project’s next concert will include a wide array of music ranging from Arvo Pärt’s meditative Spiegel im Spiegel to the pop sensibilities of Telephone Book by Michael Torke. The program also includes Berio’s virtuosic Sequenza VIII for solo violin, John Mackey’s Breakdown Tango, and Jonathan Kolm’s Trio for Clarinet, Cello, Piano. But regardless of what style or era the music is from, the concert experience will be firmly rooted in the 21st century as IonSound Project invites audience members to be their collaborators through social media interactions during the performance.

“Please Turn Your Cell Phones ON” will feature live social media feeds through facebook, instagram, and twitter, so that audience members can share reactions and responses in the moment. Stay tuned for announcements about contests and a call for photographs! If you don’t already do so, follow IonSound Project on facebook, instagram, and twitter for regular updates.

March 12, 2014 at 3:32 pm Comments (0)